Foodie Friday: Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel Frosting

Happy Friday!

Last week Friday was my 25th birthday. I was really excited for it because it gave me an excuse to make a recipe I had found but felt was too decadent to make “Just Because.”

Salted Caramel Frosting. Mmmmmmmm

My Dad got a pretty good kick when he asked me if I had any plans for the big day and I had to reply that I hadn’t gotten past just deciding on the frosting for my cake. Apparently, he told me very amused, I come by it honestly. My mother has similar tendencies. I have no complaints though and neither does the Hubby for the most part. My mother’s cooking and baking abilities have been honed over the years and she rarely has a “miss” I still have a few “misses” (I am only one year in!) but thankfully this recipe was a definite “hit!”

My camera is in the car and the car is at work with Ted but my pictures weren’t great and Teresa from Blooming on Bainbridge who I originally found this recipe through, took some mouth watering ones.

Can you see why this seemed like the only decision I needed to make??

The recipe originally came from Kimberly at Life on Blackberry Farm, she explains the process very well so pop on over there for the full recipe and instructions. It is fairly easy, although I did burn my first batch of caramel. It was recommended to me after that to keep a sink of ice water or a big pan of ice water beside your cooking area to place the hot pan of caramel in so that it doesn’t continue to cook and burn when you take it off the heat (which is what happened to me.)

I used a different cake recipe because the last “real” cakes I have made have  taken me all day, too many eggs and too much butter, so I decided to try the “Too Much Chocolate Cake” recipe from allrecipies.com

I felt a little like I cheated since it uses a cake mix as the base, but it was so easy, the price was right, and it literally took less than ten minutes to get into the oven. I thought it was delicious, moist, chocolate-y, and after a week in a cake dome and in the fridge, the remaining sliver is still moist and flavourful.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 (18.25 ounce) package devil’s food cake mix
  • 1 (5.9 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the cake and pudding mixes, sour cream, oil, beaten eggs and water. Stir in the chocolate chips and pour batter into a well greased 12 cup bundt pan.
  3. Bake for 50 to 55 minutes, or until top is springy to the touch and a wooden toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool cake thoroughly in pan at least an hour and a half before inverting onto a plate If desired, dust the cake with powdered sugar.

I hope you enjoy this cake as much as I have. If you make it I would love to hear your thoughts!

When I get my camera back I will update with some pictures of my finished cake!
Bon Appetite!
3 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel Frosting

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Mocha Frosting and Marshmallow Fondant | {thelivedinroom}

  2. Happy Birthday! So glad that you were able to get that caramel to work- did you eat some of it before you put it in the frosting? It is SO good on apples, popcorn, or ice cream so hold on to that recipe!

Please post your thoughts!

