Project 001: The Record Cabinet

Happy Monday! I hope you all had a great weekend. I was busy this weekend with a bunch of different projects but on the top of my ToDo list was picture taking!

I have pictures of this “neat project” I keep alluding to!

Et Voila…

The Record Cabinet I am going to tackle. It’s a little beat up…

But it was $20 and with a little love this old thing can a beautiful side board or even a TV unit.

If you look at the front again, those two areas on the end with the slats are speakers built into the unit

and inside comes fully loaded

I haven’t figured out if it works yet but the goal beyond refinishing the outside is to get it in working order and hopefully figure out adapting it so that you can connect your iPOD to it. Wouldn’t that be a neat feature?

I have two options for refinishing it. It is a veneer and the top is pretty dried out and scratched really bad. The veneer is really thin so I don’t think I have the option of the sanding it down and re-staining it and the front has a really thin “plasticky” veneer as well which is too bad because I am loving the look of these two-toned beauties. The first from Young House Love

source

and this one from Apartment Therapy

source

But alas, to try something like this I am going to wait until I find a solid wood piece to try it on. In the meantime I have some plans up my sleeve for this lovely piece that I can’t wait to get started on!

rachel

Please post your thoughts!

