You win some, You lose some

I spent most of my Saturday revamping a simple, four legged, round top, wood stool – the most basic stool with the fewest features…

Friday night I was home alone, sanding these down by hand while watching Bones (I know, isn’t my life glamorous?) so that the natural, naked wood would show. I wanted to go for an Anthropologie, shabby-glamour look, so I had purchased paper doilies in white to Mod Podge onto the bare wood.

In my mind it was fabulous.

But that’s about as far as the “fabulousness” got. I am not sure why it didn’t work, it looked exactly how I thought it would, but I guess my mind’s eye wears rose tinted glasses because it was missing something in real life.

These are some examples of decoupage gone very very right on the web that I thought I would have been able to add my beautiful lace stool to, but alas (maybe there is a reason why I couldn’t find and doily/lace examples to add to this list)

Source

Isn’t this beautiful? I think why it works is because it uses modern, but vintage inspired, fabric. It doesn’t try to mask the era or the history of the chair, it has just been freshened up a bit. I also like that the legs were left banged up, it really adds to the feel of the piece. I have an old chair a bit like this I may need to ditch the doilies and round up some fabric for.

This one would be adorable in a little boy’s room. Don’t you think? This chair probably gets more scrutiny than any other chair in the world. If I were babysitting that little boy I’d probably be trying to read the map and forget I was supposed to looking after a child. Kidding of course, but it is a pretty neat idea for a chair!

source

This one was done in comics, which can be hit or miss sometimes, but this one is a big “hit” in my opinion. I think it works because of the Disney theme they stuck to. This piece is inspiring me to switch to Super Hero’s and blow my little nephew’s mind for his birthday.

It can be pretty disappointing when something you think is going to turn out awesome ends  up being a bit of a flop. I keep reminding myself that it is all part  of the process and not every project is going to turn out exactly how you want it to. I wonder if any of the chairs above are a take two, three, or even four, of the original concept? I also wonder what the best method to strip Mod Podge off a stool. Paint thinner?

I will post pictures of my first attempt, the starting over process, and then hopefully a wonderful finished stool as soon as I figure it all out.

Until then, I can’t imagine I am the only one who has had a flopped DIY project! I’d love to hear your story, along with any advice you may have for stripping down the stool. It would be great to avoid harsh chemicals if possible.

3 thoughts on “You win some, You lose some

Please post your thoughts!

