The Doily Stool

I thought I would have a fabulous “fix” for you on the doily stool (if you don’t know what I am talking about you can read my post on it here) but, in the spirit of full disclosure, I will let you know that I have avoided looking at her since I banished her to the far corner of the basement. Yesterday however, I had to do laundry and on my way to the machine, low and behold, there she was, sad and lonely waiting for me to decide what I would do with her.

I am still undecided.

Originally I only had few on – less is more – but it looked weird, kind of like someone had randomly glued some doilies onto a stool. Who does that?

So then, after some thought and input, I plastered the whole thing in ’em. I got the top mostly done and gave up.

So here is a picture of where she is at:

(please ignore the awful photo quality and my dirty floors)

Obviously if I were to finish this, all the loose edges would be glued down and I’d have to put several layers of a protective coat on it BUT I still can’t decide if I should finish or not. If I were, I think I would cover the legs with the paper and then wrap the cross bars with hemp twine but I am not sure.

I think that perhaps this idea would have worked better on something with larger flat surfaces; maybe a small table for a little girl’s room or maybe a chair that had a flat slab seat and back.

What do you guys think? Keep in mind resale value!

I am strongly leaning towards starting over and going with a different idea and I will not be offended at all if you agree.

Let me know your thoughts below and I’ll go with the majority on this one!

5 thoughts on “The Doily Stool

  1. What about using one big round doily centred on the top instead of a bunch of them overlapping and going over the edge? That might look pretty. I still think there’s potential with the doily idea.

  2. hmmmmm I’m a bit on the fence about this…. I like the concept but not sure about the reality. I’m curious to see what it would look like all done. I think it could be good :)

Please post your thoughts!

