Foodie Friday

I have had a few friends ask me for some recipes. I would like to say they asked recently but it has been a while and I have yet to get them all out to those who asked. To solve this problem, and just because I enjoy cooking, I thought I would start a weekly post to feature recipes I’ve been asked for or thought you would like. Food doesn’t really relate to decor and design but it plays an integral part in home and hospitality which for me fuels my passion for decor and design so in my mind they aren’t far off.

You know when you try a recipe because it looks good but you have a pretty good  idea of how it will taste? then you actually taste it and it BLOWS your mind because it is so much better than you had anticipated? This recipe will blow your mind; Even if you don’t like the primary ingredient: Brussels Sprouts.

I found this recipe on Smitten Kitchen. This woman is an absolute genius in the kitchen. Everything I have tried of hers is delicious. If you are into food at all, you will love her blog.

Ok, enough gushing…but look how good…

Dijon-Braised Brussels Sprouts

Serves 4 as a side dish

1 pound brussels sprouts
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 cup broth (chicken or vegetable)
2 to 3 shallots, peeled and thinly sliced
2 tablespoons heavy cream
1 tablespoon smooth dijon mustard (or more to taste)
2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley (optional)

Trim sprouts and halve lengthwise. In a large, heavy 12-inch skillet heat butter and oil over moderate heat. Arrange halved sprouts in skillet, cut sides down, in one layer. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, to taste. Cook sprouts, without turning until undersides are golden brown, about 5 minutes.

Add the shallots, wine and stock and bring to a simmer. Once simmering, reduce the heat to medium-low (for a gentle simmer), cover the pot with a lid (foil works too, if your skillet lacks a lid) and cook the sprouts until they are tender can be pierced easily with the tip of a paring knife, about 15 to 20 minutes.

Remove the lid, and scoop out brussels. Add cream and simmer for two to three minutes, until slightly thickened. Whisk in mustard. Taste for seasoning, and adjust as necessary with more salt, pepper or Dijon. Pour sauce over brussels, sprinkle with parsley, if using, and serve immediately.


DIJON-BRAISED BRUSSELS SPROUTS WAS ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED ON SMITTENKITCHEN.COM

ALL CONTENT AND PHOTOS © 2006 – 2011 SMITTEN KITCHEN

I don’t like mustard and I was unsure of Brussels Sprouts but I loved this recipe, as in – eating out of the pan and licking off the spoon as I’m cooking, in danger of none of it making it to the the table – loved this recipe. I didn’t have scallions the couple times I’ve made this but a little bit of red onion well softened works well too.

I hope you liked this first installment of Foodie Friday. I am thinking of making it a weekly installment if you are interested. I hope to inspire both of us to get adventurous in the kitchen over the weekend!

I’d love to hear your thoughts, do you have a favorite and/or most detested vegetable?

I love green beans (and Brussels Sprouts now) and I don’t like squash and beets, or anything pickled. yuck.

Please post your thoughts!

