Spring Projects

This week a lot of the blogs I read are hosting or participating in spring link parties. A link party is when a host blog invites other bloggers to connect with the host blog and post a picture of their project that meets the parameters and theme set out by the host. Readers who are interested in the topic can then look at the blogs who connected and check out the pretty projects.

Anyways, over the past two weeks, some of my favorite bloggers have been hosting a Spring Fling party. The topics where different on different days and desert a goal to participate in two of them: The Spring Door Decor Party over at Southern Hospitality today, and then Spring Paint Projects Party tomorrow.

I spent a good amount of time last week trying to come up with door ideas but inspiration just wasn’t coming. If you will recall, all the supplies I meant for the front door ended up being commandeered for my front hall

20120328-141715.jpg

Here are two of my favorites that we’re posted for the party:

20120328-142231.jpg
{image source}

20120328-143544.jpg
{image source}

The second link party I wanted to participate was the Spring Paint Projects which is tomorrow. I was thinking of ways to spruce up our back yard (which is literally just a deck) and decided on trying a container garden this year. I found some decent plastic pots but they weren’t very exciting so I thought I would use them for a spring paint project.

20120328-145558.jpg
{image source}

20120328-145855.jpg
{image source}

That one is for all my Dutch family and friends

20120328-151029.jpg
{image source}

20120328-151246.jpg
{image source}

It was a disaster. I ended up with more paint on my hands and dripped all over the deck than on the pots and what ended up on the pots was splotchy and runny and not attractive in the least. I followed all the rules on how to spray paint so I think I need to rethink my paint brand because this is the second can that has been miserable to work with. If you have any tips pass them on! Is there a brand you have had success with?

So, I think I may put spring and garden out of my mind for a little longer and stick to furniture. I have a couple pieces sitting out in my living room drying and hoping for a reveal this week!

2 thoughts on “Spring Projects

  1. Hi Rachel,
    I am guessing you were using the Krylon brand again. I have had no issues with this paint. I know the first time you tried it, the finish on the cabinet was the problem. Was the temperature range okay on the day you tried it? It is really important to spray paint within the temp. range stated on the can. The second thing is that when you spray paint, in order to prevent runs, you need to waste spray paint. This means that you need to have sweeping motion, back and forth as you paint to prevent the paint from building up in any one spot. Also it is important to apply very sparse thin layers and not try for coverage in one or two or three, well you get the picture, sweep. You also cannot be too close to the object, which may be another issue. I have “kryloned” many objects of varying materials, I find it to be one of the best ones out there. When you are in the neighbourhood on a good spray painting day, right temperature, not much wind, I would be more than happy to demonstrate. I am a spray painting guru/devotee. It just takes some practice and lots of patience. ( And a good trigger finger..wish I had that comfort grip you had the day I did the couch.)

Please post your thoughts!

