Project 008: Parisian Credenza

Happy Monday! This post has been long in the making; It has taken me almost three weeks to finish this piece, mind you, I could have been a bit more diligent :) I found it a few weeks ago on the side of the road a few days before garbage day. I think someone realized it had potential and hoped someone would rescue it before the trucks came around, so of course I took it.

It is a solid piece built in Kitchener, Ontario back in the day. It was originally another record cabinet (I think this puts me at three now) but the previous owners had converted it into a credenza with a self for china or T.V components or however else you would want to use it.

You could use this in so many different ways. For the T.V. or for holding china are the obvious ones but it would be nice in an office to hold paper and office supplies organized in baskets or trays, it could be in your hall with extra linens, it could be in your living room with games and extra blankets, or it could even be in your entry (if you have a big entry) with shoes or baskets of hats and mitts and outdoor things.

It needed some structural help as the shelf was sagging a bit, the doors stuck and the clips holding the top piece in place were bending. I worked out most of these kinks but to be honest I want to redo some of my fixes before putting this little lady up for sale. 

I kept all the original hardware because I thought it was really pretty and lent itself well to the Parisian aesthetic I was going for. I am really happy how this one turned out.

11 thoughts on “Project 008: Parisian Credenza

  1. I have some furniture I was planning on getting rid of before moving to Ottawa, but now I think I should just give it to you, you do fantastic work! Great job Rachel!

  2. Rachel- amazing!!! You inspire me to much craftiness :) Well done. I have some great new ideas for our new place (yep.. that’s right. Cambridge here we come!)

  3. Wow! This is such a great piece. I LOVE it. The colour of blue you picked is so pretty, and it’s perfect with the white underneath. I always look forward to seeing what’s next!

  4. I wish I could find stuff on the side of the road…..Ed says you are the ultimate picker! You need your own show.

    1. Making your own show wouldn’t be such a bad idea! Start with a youtube special. You should look up tiny yellow house on youtube… I feel like it would be right up your alley.

Please post your thoughts!

