Foodie Friday

In honour of Mother’s Day this weekend, I thought I would choose a Foodie Friday recipe that I have made for my mother on Mother’s Day before.

{Seth Smoot via Martha Stewart}

I have three younger brothers so when it came to birthdays and special events like Mother’s Day, I was always the one to come up with the plan. This is not saying I am good at it by any stretch, just better than three little boys. I always had the best intentions, but I also seem to have this adverse reaction to planning in advance. For instance, I don’t like buying a gift more than a week in advance because a) What if I change my mind? and b) It hurts me to keep fun surprises secret . I always blow it or I feel like I am blowing up inside from the pressure of not giving it away. This modus operandi however, always has me scrambling last minute stressed out trying to find something great. You would think I’d have learned by now. Anyway, despite Mom getting her gift late or never, we were usually made her breakfast. Unfortunately, this meant she wasn’t able to sleep in due to all the banging of four kids in the kitchen and the place was then usually a disaster after. I didn’t really clue into how this could be a bit of a downer until I had my own kitchen to clean. Sorry Mom.

Pancakes are a bit of a staple in our house, one year we took it up a notch for Mother’s Day and made a special berry sauce to go on top of the pancakes. Top with a bit of whip cream and pancakes are all of a sudden a gourmet treat.

Berry Sauce

1 1/2c Sour Cherries

1c Strawberries

1c Rasberries

1/4 c Blueberries

1/4c Water

1 tsp Vanilla

1/4 c Sugar

2 TBSP Cornstarsh

mix the water, sugar, cornstarch and vanilla in a sauce pan on medium heat. When ingredients are well mixed and dissolved, add all the berries. Allow everything to simmer until the berries are softened and have thickened to a sauce consistency.

{A Food Centric Life}

Its super easy but it is so delicious. The sour cherries are the key ingredient, they keep this sauce from being too sweet and add a nice tangy flavour. Top with some (or lots!) of whip cream and make sure to add a good dallup to your coffee.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Please post your thoughts!

