Naturally Living

I was invited to a Naturally Living Party on Saturday night. I’ll admit am not the most “green” person you will ever meet but I do want to be a good steward of this Earth and my body, we only do get one this side of Heaven after all. I recycle (mostly), I like to cook from scratch, I love my steam mop, I reuse old furniture (clearly) and I try to avoid processed foods, but I am starting to realize that I am a bit of a product junky and use a lot chemicals that are unnecessary, more expensive, and can even be harmful to us.

{Greenermiami.com}

The biggest driver for me is wanting to be responsible with our health, with our home, and with our finances. I grew up in a home where mom made our food from scratch, we grew stuff in the garden, recycled things, and reused things. Not necessarily out of an environmental concern (it wasn’t really a hot topic then) but just because it was healthier, or more budget friendly, or because it brought joy to create and make. These are all qualities that I admire, I think they are great life principles and I want to get better at practising them and I want them evident in our home.

{via Pinterest} – Joy from nature

I like making things and I am OCD enough to love the idea of four simple ingredients (organized in an aesthetically pleasing row of course) serving a multitude of purposes. (Not to mention the ablitly to make my solutions in matching bottles with cute matching labels! joy from organizing!)

{macheesemo.com}

I think the biggest thing that I would like to find natural solutions to is the cleaning products I use. I came to this conclusion something had to change after realizing I was getting a headache after cleaning the bathroom from the harsh products I was using. Not great. I have already started using baking soda for most of my tough scrubbing in the kitchen (sink, pots and pans, glass top stove.) I have found that this works better than my store bought products. I figure that it works better and it is better for us so it is worth my time to look into it a bit more.

I have hated the scent of the all purpose cleaner I bought from the store when we moved. I am about two squirts from finishing it and I then I will have an empty spray bottle to make a natural all purpose cleaner. This is a recipe I got from the party on Saturday that I’d like to try:

{Photo: The Lopez Family Blog}

  • 2c Water
  • 1/4 White Vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp Tea Tree Oil
  • 1/4 tsp Lavender Oil

As far as I can tell, it is a pretty basic cleaner that lots of people have been using for ages, I haven’t read any complaints. It will undoubtedly smell better and there is nothing harmful in it so I think it is worth a try. I know I am a little slow on this train, I am sure many of you already use natural, home made cleaners. What are some of your favourites? I also got some recipes for laundry soap but I am a bit hesitant, I am really happy with the one I use. I would love to hear your comments, thoughts, and/or advice!

2 thoughts on “Naturally Living

  1. Hi Rachel,
    Here is a recipe which is very similar to one I have tried for hardwood floor cleaner. This one is from Tipnut (http://naturesnurtureblog.com/2012/04/19/homemade-floor-all-purpose-cleaner/) The one I had found actually had a bit of olive oil, lemon juice, dish soap and vinegar. I seem to have misfiled the recipe under some name that was meaningful at the time and not so much now! I remember it did an excellent job, was non toxic and less expensive than the non toxic cleaner I was buying.

    Recipe type: Homemade Cleaners
    Ingredients
    ◦1 cup water
    ◦1 cup vinegar
    ◦1 cup isopropyl alcohol
    ◦2-3 drops natural dish soap
    ◦10-15 drops essential oil (optional)
    ◦Fine-mist spray bottle – 24oz

    Instructions
    1.Add all ingredients to spray bottle and shake to combine.
    2.Sweep/vacuum the floor.
    3.Spray cleaner on the floor.
    4.Wipe up with a microfiber cloth in circular motion.

    Copper can be cleaned with a lemon and some coarse salt. Sprinkle a cut half of a lemon with salt and rub it on the copper. ( from Martha Steward Living).

    I would reduce the amount of vinegar in the floor cleaner simply because vinegar can etch the finish on the floor over time. I would also spray the cleaner on a floor mop rather than directly on the floor. The key to cleaning hardwood is as little water as possible.

    If I find the original recipe I will send it along, it had done a really good job.

Please post your thoughts!

