Exciting Events

Two exciting events this week. Yesterday was our one year wedding anniversary.

It is unbelievable how fast a year flies by! I would have never guessed that we would be where we are now, and I could have never guessed how great this year was going to be.

I am also pretty excited about what came up this past week: I was asked to host a little workshop on refinishing furniture as I have been doing the past couple months! It is just a half hour long as part of a larger women’s event happening at our church, but I think that a half hour is a perfect amount of time to wet my feet for the first time talking about it publicly, and wet the interest of the ladies attending.

I need to sit down and make an outline I want to follow but I know that I want to touch on what got me started on doing this, basic techniques, how to find inspiration, and then really encourage everyone attending that they are more than capable of doing pieces themselves if it something they think they would enjoy.

The greatest thing paint and wood furniture is that there is no way of messing it up beyond repair, at least not with paint. Take my wooden stools for example…

The turned out great, but if you remember the process, the first attempt wasn’t so great…

There is almost nothing a bit of sanding, paint stripper, and some elbow grease cannot fix!

The event is on Saturday June 9, 2012. From 2-4. If you want more details you can email me at thelivedinroom@gmail.com.

If you have any ideas of topics I should talk about on Saturay, I’d love your input!

Please post your thoughts!

