Foodie Friday: Summer Kabob’s

I was perusing the meat aisle at the grocery store last night and was hit by an overwhelming desire for Kabob’s.

I looked up a recipe when I got home but was too lazy to then actually read it, so I headed to the kitchen to make it up as I went along.

Because I made it up as I went along, I also made up these quantities as I wrote this. It is pretty proportionally accurate but feel free to adjust to suit your tastes.

Ingredients

  • 1/4c Mayo
  • 4 TBSP Honey Mustard
  • 2 TBSP Soya Sauce
  • 2 TBSP Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 tsp Sesame Oil
  • Herbs (I used Cilantro and Thai Basil)
  • Ground Pepper

I tossed everything in a bowl and mixed it together to make a thick sauce/marinade. I then added two huge chicken breasts cubed (approx. 1″x1″)

Let the chicken sit in the marinade for as long as you have. Try aim for at least a half hour.

While the chicken was marinading I chopped up red potatoes and seasoned them with Montreal Chicken Spice, tossed with olive oil and bake at 350 in a pyrex until soft 30-40min

I then chopped up a red pepper and a Sweet Spanish Red Onion to add to my kabob’s

Thread your skewers alternating chicken and veggies.

When your BBQ is good and hot, spray with oil and set the kabob’s on to sear the sides. (1min a side) Turn the BBQ down to low and allow the chicken to cook through flipping once.

Serve with a Yummy salad!

I was amazed at how tender the chicken was, I think that the combo of mayo and vinegar, searing the chicken first, and then cooking on low was the secret to their success. I also really liked the sweet onion as oppose to just a regular red onion, it tastes almost caramelized after being BBQ’d without having to add any sugar!

Hope you love these as much as I did…

Bon Appetite!

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Summer Kabob’s

Please post your thoughts!

